Chatting it Up

Recently, I participated in my first live Twitter chat. The topic of the chat was blogging, hosted by a man named Mack Collier. Collier hosts these live Twitter chats every Sunday night at 9pm ET. To access the live chat, I used the hashtag #blogchat. The topic of the March 2nd chat was “Sharing your Expertise without being ‘The Expert.'” This topic interested me because I am a novice at blogging (after all, this is my first blog). I was hoping to gain some insights from PR and HR professionals, and surprisingly, I received more feedback than I originally expected.

I began the chat by stating that I would be a participant in the event.

I was surprised that other participants warmly welcomed me. Before I posted in the chat, I looked at the tweets posted by Collier and how participants responded to them. Then, I posted my own questions in attempt to engage others.

Once people responded to my tweets, I felt comfortable sharing my feedback on the tweets they were posting and becoming more engaged in the conversation.

I made some of my own comments on the topic of being an ‘expert’ blogger. Next, I reached out to Collier and asked for his professional advice on blogging. I noticed a woman, Kerry O’Shea Gorgone, who was also participating in the #blogchat, was responding to several tweets of mine. She seemed to be a credible career professional, so I tweeted at her asking how to gain a professional following on social media networks.

Twitter is an amazing vehicle to reach people directly and instantaneously… I found myself constantly refreshing my page to see who answered my tweets and who I wanted to engage. The chat lasted about an hour. After it ended, I sent out a tweet thanking participants for making my first live chatting experience memorable.

Reflecting on this experience, I have some of my own tips to give to you about tweeting during a live chat:

  • Do your background research before beginning that chat
  • Make a list of some interesting questions that you would like to ask others during the event
  • Share your own opinion on the topic that’s being discussed
  • Respond to other participants
  • Acknowledge people who reply to your tweets

To expand on my last point, favor the responses of people who answered your questions, or reply back to them. If you notice that people have been responding consistently to your questions, it’s nice to reach back out to them.

In addition, I wanted to share two of my favorite tweets with you from others who posted during the chat. I particularly liked the following tweets because they incorporated humor. The participants were able to touch on the topic of  ‘expert’ blogging, while using humor to lighten up the mood of the chat.

Overall, I enjoyed my live chatting experience and look forward to participating in another. The chat is fast-paced, so the discussion is fluid. People are engaging and enjoy using their own expertise to help answer your questions, or just simply connect with you. People even offered to look over my blog and share it with others! This was a new and positive experience for me, and one that I highly recommend to you. Twitter was used to network, engage, and have a discussion… After all, that is how all social media sites are meant to be utilized.

Leave a Reply

